24 Comments
Mar 26, 2020Liked by Scott Hines

A very good Gamecock who also draws things for ESPN sometimes created a tshirt that is basically the Tottenham logo but for South Carolina football that calls the team Bluff Road Football Club (Bluff Road is where Williams-Brice Stadium sits). It is very beautiful, very soft, and allows me to wear a South Carolina football t-shirt in public without having to talk about Will Muschamp. It is the perfect shirt.

https://twitter.com/kevROSHAY/status/1070029272578973696?s=20

Expand full comment
Mar 26, 2020Liked by Scott Hines

I have a t shirt from a fundraiser someone on Twitter did which features a skull and crossbones bowl of ramen. Incredibly comfy too

https://www.nosurvivorsramen.com/collections/frontpage/products/no-survivors-limited-edition-launch-t-pre-sale

Expand full comment
Mar 26, 2020Liked by Scott Hines

I have a long-sleeved t-shirt from a long-ago closed Oxford, MS business, The Hoka. It was an indie movie theatre and cafe in an old cotton warehouse, and where all the "freaks and geeks" hung out. A guy named Ron Shapiro ran it and he was like everybody's fun uncle. He passed away last summer and the entire town came out to give him a Second Line. I've had that shirt since high school (so over 30 years).

Expand full comment
Mar 26, 2020Liked by Scott Hines

I have a regular ass grey tshirt, just 100% cotton, no blends or anything, for a team triathlon me and two college friends did (the slogan on the back: Defeating the Purpose). We were woefully underprepared except for our runner who did it as a training run for the Chicago Marathon. It has the Olympic symbols and distances with our last names. I wear it all the damn time.

Bonus points for my wife (who was just my gf then) for waking up at 5:30 am to drive up and stand in a field with us for 5 hours. Triathlons aren’t exactly a spectator sport.

Expand full comment
Mar 26, 2020Liked by Scott Hines

There was a Christmas tree farm where I grew up in Florida that was called Lazy Lay Acres. Got it in High School and still wear it. At this point I kind of hope my wife objects....

Expand full comment
founding
Mar 26, 2020Liked by Scott Hines

I have my "lucky" Maryland t-shirt, that I typically wear to football games. I got it at orientation 11 years ago, free from a bookstore that's no longer in business.

Expand full comment
Mar 26, 2020Liked by Scott Hines

I went to a game at Fenway Park when I was visiting Boston in 2008 or so. While there, I bought a shirsey for a player that would assuredly be remembered as an all-time great player: Daisuke Matsuzaka. I still wear it sometimes.

Expand full comment
Mar 26, 2020Liked by Scott Hines

I don't wear t-shirts. I don't. My wife calls me a cartoon because during the school year, I essentially wear the same thing all the time, dark blue quarterzip over a white polo, khaki pants, white socks, Nike Air Monarch IV wides. So I don't really do t-shirts.

HOWEVER, I do make a class shirt for my AP classes every year Last year's was my favorite: We took the logo from the Strategic Science Reserve in Captain America/Agent Carter, modified it a bit, and that as the front. On the back, Sharon Carter's speech from Civil War, which is a modified version of a Cap speech in the comics:

"Compromise where you can. And where you can’t, don’t. Even if everyone is telling you that something wrong is something right, even if the whole world is telling you to move. It is your duty to plant yourself like a tree, look them in the eye and say, no. You move."

Expand full comment
Mar 26, 2020Liked by Scott Hines

I have a Neurot Recordings shirt. They're a local metal label, and the idea is that I'm a) showing the world just how hard and dangerous I am, while b) saying, "Hell yeah, East Bay." But it's a subtle shirt. It doesn't have corpses or illegible black metal font. It's a small logo on the front, and a large logo with "NEUROT RECORDINGS" on the back. I love, love , love subtle metal shirts like this. They don't threaten the six-year-olds I coach in softball, but it still reminds the world that I CONTAIN MULTITUDES.

Exactly zero people have commented on this shirt in the last five years.

I also have a shirt that reads, "MUSTACHE RIDES: 5 CENTS," but I'm not allowed to wear it.

Expand full comment
founding
Mar 26, 2020Liked by Scott Hines

Currently wearing it. Yellow on black Wu Tang with the big W

Expand full comment
Mar 26, 2020Liked by Scott Hines

I have a black long sleeve Under Armour shirt that I got during my junior year of high school (2006). Still have it, still wear it. Plus it says PROTECT THIS HOUSE in silver letters on the left sleeve.

Expand full comment
author

My other most-worn-out t-shirt is a company softball ringer tee from a firm I was laid off from in the crash of '08. I rarely played, and it's a hideous shade of orange, but it's super comfortable.

Expand full comment